SiChem congratulates this year’s Nobel Prize winners in Chemistry

Chemistry Nobel Prize 2022 for Click Chemistry

Carolyn Bertozzi (Stanford University)

Morten Meldal (University of Copenhagen)

Barry Sharpless (Scripps Research Institute)

This year, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Carolyn Bertozzi of the University of Stanford, Morten Meldal of the University of Copenhagen, and Barry Sharpless of the Scripps Research Institute for their work on click chemistry and bioorthogonal reactions.

SiChem GmbH proudly offers a large number of reagents to perform click chemistry including several patented unnatural amino acids featuring strained double or triple bonds for incorporation into proteins and performing click chemistry inside cells and organisms. The Nobel committee mentioned the great use of click chemistry for preparing antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs). SiChem offers many of the click chemistry tools required for bringing this exciting technique to the patient. SiChem also synthesizes click reagents on a kg scale for selected cooperation partners.

Background: Click chemistry involves spontaneous irreversible reactions of two molecules to form a new chemical entity. What makes them so special is that these reactions can happen in a large variety of environments including water. This simple form of chemistry is therefore highly useful to many applications in material science, drug synthesis and even in intact organisms. Carolyn Bertozzi made these reactions independent of co-reagents and demonstrated the feasibility of applications in intact cells and organisms without detectable side-effects on the biology, coining to the reactions “bioorthogonal”.

SiChem congratulates the Nobel Prize winners for their impactful work.

SiChem supplies all 3 institutes with useful tools for click chemistry. Have a look at SiChem’s Click-Chemistry portfolio.